Sponsorship Opportunities

We are happy to have the following sponsors with us so far: VisitAberdeen, Forestry Commission Scotland, James Hutton Institute, Canadian Sphagnum Peat Moss Association, Klasmann-Deilmann, Vapo, Griendtsveen and Northern Peat and Moss Company. Thank you very much for your support!

The organising committee of the 2017 IPS Convention would like to invite you to work with us to make this event a truly memorable and successful gathering of peat and peatland enthusiasts from Scotland, the UK, Europe and beyond. This will be an opportunity to meet, share and discuss new knowledge and experiences. Photo: VisitScotland / Kenny Lam

We would like to invite you to work together with us to make this event a great success! A partnership where you as a company have the opportunity to be heard and to meet with a large number of peat-producers, peat-users, researchers, students and other peat enthusiasts from around the world.

We offer you a variety of activities and events that you can sponsor in order to promote your company in the true tradition of warm Scottish hospitality. Shared sponsorships are also welcomed.

“Here’s to the heath, the hill and the heather,
The bonnet, the plaid, the kilt and the feather”

HERE ARE SOME EXAMPLES OF SPONSORSHIP – Sponsors will also be mentioned at this website as soon as you sign up!

  • Hunting MacLachlan: Cotton congress bags for all participants printed with your company name and logo, €300
  • Culloden: Pens & notepads for all participants printed with your  company name and logo, €600
  • MacLeod: Sponsorship of a keynote speaker (four in total), €2000 per keynote
  • Harris: Sponsorship of the Monday evening ‘Ice Breaker’ session (drinks & canapes), €2000
  • Anderson: Sponsorship of wine for the Monday evening dinner, €1500
  • Boyd: Sponsorship of coach transport for the Tuesday evening Gala Dinner in Haddo House, €1500
  • Park: Sponsorship of a drinks & canape reception for the Tuesday evening Gala Dinner in Haddo House, €1500
  • Haddo: Sponsorship of wine on tables for the Tuesday evening Gala Dinner in Haddo House, €2000
  • Graham of Menteith: Sponsorship of the IPS/VIP dinner on Sunday 29th May, €2000
  • Macgregor: Company display stand, €500
  • Mackinnon: Entertainment at Ice-breaker, €750

If you are interested in providing support please contact IPS UK:

Professor Jack Rieley
phone: +44 (0)1949 20920

Professor Susan Page


Keynote speakers confirmed

  1. Professor Chris Evans of the UK Centre for Hydrology and Ecology. Chris is an expert on GHG emissions from peatlands, a prominent peatland scientist with also a good knowledge of tropical peatland and their GHG emissions.
  2. Professor Line Rochefort of Université Laval in Quebec, Canada. Line is one of the foremost experts on peatland restoration, employing novel methods for the rehabilitation of cutover Sphagnum bogs.
  3. Professor Carl Trettin works for the US Forest Service as Team Leader at the Southern Research Station in South Carolina. He is also an Adjunct Professor in Soil Science at North Carolina State University. His current research focusses on the carbon cycle in wetlands.
  4. Since January 2015, Mike Quinn has been CEO of Bord na Móna, the public-semi-state company formed in 1946 for the development of peatlands for the generation of electricity. Since then Bord na Mona has diversified its operations greatly and is meeting the challenges of modern society and its environmental issues. Mike has a degree in Physics and Electronics and a postgraduate qualification in Project Management; he has had a career in senior management positions in a range of companies.
  5. Nazir Foead is head of the Indonesian Agency for Restoration of Tropical Peatland that was established a year ago by the President of Indonesia to address the problem of massive CO2 emissions from developed peatland and fire. Prior to this, Nazir was Coordinator for  Climate and Land Use Alliance responsible for direct grants and support. Formerely, he was the Conservation Director of WWF Indonesia, managing over 300 staff in 26 conservation sites.

Photo: Coastal blanket bog erosion. Copyright: Russell Anderson.

Sign up now!

With the publication of the 2nd Circular for the Annual Convention of the IPS, registration is now open for speakers and participants. Please visit the registration page at https://peatlands2017.net/registration  and follow the links to the UK Econet registration form and payment site to read full conditions and fill in your data.

Note that the page contains even more options for combining several components of the symposium – you have full choice of designing your attendance. We look foward to seeing you, pack your bags and wellies and come with us!

Early bird registration has been extended to 10 April.

Call for Presentations

We are inviting offers of oral and poster presentations from the UK, Europe and beyond from a wide range of peatland experts and stakeholders including agencies, landowners, professionals and researchers so that they can share the latest information, problems and solutions, based on the many exciting projects that are taking place across the world.

Abstracts of presentations should be sent to ips@peatlands.org by 31st March new: 10 April 2017. These should be no longer than 150 words prepared in Times New Roman font size 12 without formatting. Titles should be in uppercase and names and addresses of authors provided. The Email address of the lead author should be given. At least one of the authors must be registered at the Convention to present in person.

Appeal for support

The success of this Convention depends on how much you are prepared to help and give. The small steering committee we set up cannot organise everything. We really need your assistance even in small ways. The UK Peat Society does not have a large membership, neither does it have much money.

I also want to ask our IPS corporate members to support the event financially by sponsoring an activity. I shall be writing to each of you individually soon to ask you more directly to assist in this way.

Jack Rieley, Chair Convention 2017 Organising Committee